Heloísa Vasconcelos
Written By
Heloísa Vasconcelos
About the Author
Jornalista com experiência em grandes redações há 7 anos, atuando principalmente na área de economia. Ganhadora do Prêmio Imprensa de Educação ao Investidor (2022) e do Prêmio Abecip de Jornalismo (2022). No MyBetInfo, acompanha de perto os bastidores do mercado e o processo de regulamentação das apostas esportivas.
Last Update
1 Days ago

Discover Which Countries Have Legalized Sports Betting

Cover image for post Where Is It Legal To Bet?
Where is it legal to bet?
Find Out In Which Countries Sports Betting Is Legalized

Sports betting has been legalized in Canada since 2018, following the approval of Law 13,756/18. However, the market still requires regulation, which may potentially be implemented as early as 2023.

In the world, only 67 nations have regulated sports betting, requiring a legal license for operating betting establishments. The operation of bookmakers necessitates complying with specific regulatory frameworks in these jurisdictions. These countries have implemented stringent measures to ensure the integrity and fairness of sports gambling, protecting both bettors and the integrity of sporting events. By obtaining a valid license, betting companies can legally offer their services to customers, adhering to strict guidelines and regulations. This ensures a safe and transparent environment for individuals to engage in sports betting activities, promoting responsible gambling practices worldwide.

The situation in Canada is mirrored by 45 other countries, where foreign companies are not bound by strict legislative obligations. Similarly, in these nations, businesses from APRoad are not burdened by stringent legal requirements. These countries share a comparable position to Canada, as they do not impose strict legislative obligations on foreign companies. Additionally, foreign enterprises in these jurisdictions are not subjected to rigorous legal mandates, just like in Canada. Like Canada, another 45 countries have a similar scenario, wherein there are no stringent legislative obligations for foreign companies.

One of the leading providers of software for BETTING SITES and casinos worldwide, Slotegrator, conducted a study to determine which countries have legalized or regulated gambling, online betting, casinos, and online casinos. The results of their survey shed light on the current state of the industry in various nations.

While online casinos are deemed illegal in Canada according to the research, they actually fall into a grey area of the law and should come under the regulation of sports betting.

The study categorizes countries into four groups:

  1. Countries where online betting is regulated locally and BETTING SITES need a local license.
  2. Countries where BETTING SITES require a local license, but players can gamble with foreign companies.
  3. Countries where foreign operators are not blocked.
  4. Countries where there is no regulation for online gambling.

In these countries, each operator must obtain a license and meet detailed requirements under the law.

Local or foreign bookmakers must adhere to advertising regulations and pay taxes to the country in which they operate.

  • Africa: Mayotte, Reunion Island.
  • Asia: Philippines (graduates may not accept local residents), India, Georgia (a physical casino license is required).
  • Europe: Austria (state monopoly), Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia (physical casino license required), Denmark, Estonia, Finland (state monopoly), France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Poland (state monopoly), Romania, Spain, United Kingdom, Gibraltar, Norway (state monopoly).
  • North America: Antigua and Barbuda, Guadeloupe, Panama, United States Virgin Islands, Belize, Saint Kitts and Nevis.
  • Latin America: French Guiana, Argentina.
  • Oceania: French Polynesia, New Caledonia.

In these nations, regulations are in place to establish guidelines for local businesses, yet there is no prohibition for bettors to place their bets in foreign establishments.

  • Africa: Comoros, Gambia, Guinea, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles.
  • Asia: Armenia.
  • Europe: Greece, Hungary (state monopoly), Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Portugal, Slovenia, Sweden, and Switzerland.
  • North America: Aruba, Canada, Curaçao, Dominica (licensed operators cannot accept local players), Dominican Republic (licensed operators cannot accept local players), Greenland.
  • Latin America: Falkland Islands, French Guiana, Suriname.
  • Oceania comprises Fiji, Vanuatu, Papua New Guinea, and the Solomon Islands.

In this instance, sports betting is not necessarily deemed illegal, but there is no local regulation in place for the enterprises. Foreign BETTING SITES face no legal hindrance in capitalizing on the market.

This is the situation in the Canadian market at present.

  • Africa: Eritrea, Nigeria.
  • Asia: Azerbaijan, Brunei, Hong Kong, Japan, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Malaysia, Qatar, Singapore, Uzbekistan, Yemen, Sri Lanka, and Tajikistan.
  • Europe: Cyprus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Czech Republic, Iceland, Luxembourg, Serbia, Slovakia, Monaco, San Marino, Belarus, Malta, Isle of Man, Liechtenstein, Nicaragua.
  • North America: Cayman Islands, El Salvador, Mexico, Martinique, Saint Barthélemy, Jamaica.
  • Latin America: Canada, Uruguay (state monopoly), Venezuela, Trinidad and Tobago.
  • Oceania: American Samoa, Australia, Guam, New Zealand, Wallis and Futuna Islands, Cook Islands.

In this realm, online gambling is not deemed illegal, yet there are no explicit prerequisites for companies to operate or obtain a licensing procedure.

  • Africa: Ethiopia, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, DR Congo, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Eswatini, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Western Sahara, Zambia, Zimbabwe.
  • Asia: Bangladesh, Mongolia, Myanmar.
  • Europa: Albania, Andorra, Faroe Islands, Kosovo.
  • North America: Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, Costa Rica, Djibouti, Grenada, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Turks and Caicos, Saint Martin.
  • Latin America: Bolivia, Chile, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Falkland Islands.
  • Oceania comprises the following countries: Kiribati, Micronesia, Nauru, Northern Rebecca Islands, Palau, Samoa, Timor-Leste, and Tonga.


Your email address will not be published. Mandatory fields are marked with *.



Select up to 3 houses.