Board restructure sees GVC’s Heike Mayer succeed Mike O’Kane as ESSA Chair

Board restructure sees GVC’s Heike Mayer succeed Mike O’Kane as ESSA Chair

by 11.05.2017 0 comments

Updating the market, International betting integrity body ESSA has elected a new Chairperson and expanded its board. FTSE listed GVC Holdings Heike Mayer succeeds outgoing ESSA Chair, Mike O’Kane, who has held the position since 2012.

The ESSA board has also expanded to reflect its growing membership, with Betway’s Jon Russell and David Foster of Paddy Power Betfair strengthening the board of directors.

Heike Mayer, who is responsible for Public and Regulatory Affairs at GVC, takes over as Chair of the association from Mike O’Kane, a veteran of over 40 years in the industry, who has stepped down following his retirement from Ladbrokes.

Heike Mayer commented on her new appointment as ESSA Chair“I’d like to thank Mike for all of his hard work over the last five years. He has done a great job in repositioning the association and has been an influential and vocal advocate of ESSA members and our sector in general. There are a number of key issues and opportunities facing the industry going forward. I will be working with my board colleagues to deliver and implement a strategy that meets those challenges and maintains the strong working relationships that ESSA has built,”

ESSA Secretary General Khalid Ali commented on the update: “The expansion of the board reflects a desire to ensure that we are best placed to represent the association’s increasing membership and to meet the ongoing challenges facing the sports betting sector. We are very fortunate to have a wealth of experience and knowledge within our membership to help drive us forward to achieve our goals.”

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Only registered users can comment.