topping chandler mummery garrisi and hidalgo join sports betting hall of fame

topping chandler mummery garrisi and hidalgo join sports betting hall of fame

by 01.09.2020 0 comments

Five new members will be inducted to the Sports Betting Hall of Fame at next week’s SBC Summit Barcelona – Digital.

Despite the event moving online because of the COVID pandemic, SBC has decided to go ahead with the Hall of Fame ceremony and switch it to a virtual format, in order to pay tribute to some of the most influential people in the industry’s history.

The five new members are:

The virtual ceremony will include interviews with the new members, as they share some insights into their success and thoughts about the current state of the sports betting industry with the thousands of delegates watching. 

Ralph Topping commented: “Growing up in the industry it was a privilege to meet and observe a lot of the people who have appeared in the Hall of Fame, so I’m very humbly accepting the kind offer to join them. I think it’s a good thing for the sector that there is such a thing as the Sports Betting Hall of Fame.”

Victor Chandler said: “I am delighted to have been invited to join the Sports Betting Hall of Fame alongside so many other illustrious members of the industry.  As a fourth generation bookmaker, it is an industry that is in my blood and has given me so many adventures, both good and bad.  I would like to convey my thanks at being recognised in this way.”

Bill Mummery, Executive Director of Celton Manx, added: “I’m delighted. After a very long career this really is a high point. Thank you very much for the recognition.”

SBC Managing Director Andrew McCarron commented: “Once again we have a fantastic line-up for the Sports Betting Hall of Fame, all of whom made a significant impact on how the industry has developed over the last few decades. 

“In an ideal world we would be honouring these new members in person, as we did at last year’s emotional event at the Natural History Museum, however our cutting edge digital event platform will at least allow us to mark the occasion.”

SBC launched the Sports Betting Hall of Fame in 2016, in order to honour, preserve and perpetuate the names and outstanding accomplishments of personalities who have brought lasting success to the industry. The original inductees were Carsten Koerl (CEO, Sportradar), Mark Blandford (Founder, Sportingbet) and Howard Chisholm (Director, Bookmakers Technology Consortium). 

They have since been joined by Paris Smith (CEO, Pinnacle), Fred Done (Founder, Betfred), Vigen Badalyan (Founder & CEO, BetConstruct), Norbert Teufelberger (Co-Founder, Bwin), Pontus Lindwall (CEO, Betsson), Warwick Bartlett (CEO, GBGC), Constantinos Antonopoulos (Vice-Chairman, Intralot), Fabio Schiavolin (CEO, Snaitech), Denise Coates (Founder & CEO, bet365), John Boyle (Founder & Chairman, BoyleSports), John Anderson (Former CEO, 888 Holdings), Armin Sageder (Founder, paysafecard & BGT), Richard Flint (Former CEO, Sky Betting & Gaming) and Jukka Honkavaara (Punter who placed the first ever online sports bet).

The US chapter of the Sports Betting Hall of Fame also welcomed five new members earlier this year: 

The Class of 2020 joined Art Manteris (VP Race and Sports Book Operations, Station Casinos) Dennis Drazan (CEO, Monmouth Park) and Chris Christie (former NJ Governor) as members of the Hall of Fame from the US industry.

All delegates at SBC Summit Barcelona – Digital, which takes place on 8 – 11 September 2020, will be able to find out more about the Hall of Fame and watch interviews with some of the latest intake.

Click here to register for your free pass for the virtual conference and exhibition for the global betting & gaming industry.

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Only registered users can comment.