william hill announces long list for 30th sboty award

william hill announces long list for 30th sboty award

by 25.09.2018 0 comments

William Hill has announced the long-list of contenders for its 30thSports Book of the Year Award’, considered the most prestigious prize in English sports literature.

The UK bookmaker announces the 17 sports books and authors that have made its ‘2018 SBOTY long list’, a diverse mix which includes novels, diaries, autobiographies, exposes of sports biggest stars and gonzo journalism.

Announcing the long-list, Graham Sharpe Chairman of Judges and co-founder of the Award, said:

“Over the last 30 years, this award has been responsible for raising the quality and breadth of the subject matter of books about sport, which was the aim from day one. Since our first year, in 1989, over 3000 books have been entered for the award and, including this year, well over half a million pounds of prize money has been handed out to longlisted, shortlisted and winning authors, making this the biggest and longest-running commitment ever given to promoting sports books.

The SBOTY 2018 long list is as follows

The judging panel for this year’s Award consists of: journalist and broadcaster Mark Lawson; retired professional footballer and former chairman of the Professional Footballer’s Association, Clarke Carlisle; broadcaster and writer John Inverdale; broadcaster Danny Kelly; award-winning journalist Hugh McIlvanney; and The Times columnist and author, Alyson Rudd. Chair of Judges is Graham Sharpe, co-creator of the Award alongside the late John Gaustad, founder of the Sportspages bookshop, who passed away in 2016.


William Hill will announce its SBOTY finalists on 23 October, with the eventual winner announced at BAFTA London on Tuesday 27 November.

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Only registered users can comment.